Why I haven’t written more

It has been my goal to try to write something meaningful once a week. I have been quite lousy achieving that goal, to be honest, but I do have a decent excuse. I took a (drunken) dare to do a half-Ironman some time ago. I have done 4 marathons in the past and figured that it would be about the same. I was horribly wrong. The workouts amount to much more time than marathon training, so things like blogging suffered. I’m not saying that there wasn’t time to blog, but the training woreΒ me out so much that I couldn’t think clearly enough to write. Rest was more important. Well, I completed the triathlon yesterday and I am pleased with my 5:38:30 considering the all of the cramping and rookie mistakes made. Now, I will be putting more effort into completing my Central Asian adventure and branching out beyond it.

That is one happy finisher!

That is one happy finisher!

17 thoughts on “Why I haven’t written more

    1. manyounighted Post author

      Thanks! I’m giving myself a couple of weeks off to recover. Then, I will be training for the Chicago Marathon, which will be the first time I have ever visited. With all of my travels, can you believe that?

      Reply
    1. manyounighted Post author

      Thanks, Diana! I was so nervous about the 70.3! My preparation wasn’t ideal. I really feared that I would pay dearly for such a thin training base. I did, somewhat, but I pushed through so that the sacrifice would amount to something. I you master that treadmill, you might just find yourself doing one of these someday! πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. Holistic Wayfarer

        Ah, don’t even consider thinking about putting me in your league. I am proud of myself when I can eke out 2 miles. That’s right. But my threshold is different from others. I can’t try to be like them. Just have to keep myself active as I can. Keep on, buddy. You rock.

  1. Lani

    Congratulations. What a feat! And don’t worry about blogging, I’ve been busy too, I wish I had your good excuse. Hahahaha. Not really. Cheers πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. manyounighted Post author

      Thanks, Lani! Great to hear from you! I am certainly enjoying the R&R and the satisfaction of the accomplishment! The muscle soreness, not so much. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Mabel Kwong

    Congrats, Marcus! You look so happy, and I’m happy for you. You would think you were in good shape for a marathon anytime since you travel and hike around the world quite often πŸ™‚ Good and meaningful writing takes time. It’s always a struggle for me to put up one post a week, just so wiped out from work. Safe travels to Asia and beyond πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. manyounighted Post author

      Thanks, Mabel! I was really happy. I exceeded my expectations (but then wondered why I didn’t do better- the joys of being me πŸ™‚ )The only other time I did a triathlon (2004) I had a really good marathon the following fall. I am hoping for the same outcome this year, too. πŸ™‚ I appreciate the encouragement. I hope to start working on a new post in a couple of days. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. LaVagabonde

    You have my admiration for completing that halfer. No need to feel bad about not blogging as often as you’d like. It takes a lot of energy to write, too.

    Reply
  4. jbw0123

    Woo hoo! That’s impressive! You can’t do it all sir. Not all at once, anyway. You deserve to rest on your laurels. For a week anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

